The question you face growing up constantly.. What do you want to be when you grow up?As a child the answer to this question will most probably change on a day to day basis, ranging from anything from an international footballer, to an astronaut or even the lead singer in a girl band.

But once reality hits that the world isn’t full of footballers, astronauts and singers, you soon think what could I actually spend every working day actually doing. I have always had a huge interest in property, to the point that when I was younger I wanted to buy an old abandoned hotel not far from where I live and refurbish it throughout and sell it on. I can’t remember how old I was then but it clearly wasn’t an appealing investment at the time as nobody bought it and was soon demolished. It is one of the most scary times choosing a career path; and I find myself very lucky that I just fell into an estate agency career which I love and that I am truly passionate about.

station hotel birtley
The Station Hotel, Birtley 

I love that every day is different and that you never know what house or what client you will see and meet next. I still come across new scenarios and situations that I have never faced or experienced before, but that is what makes being an estate agent so fun and enjoyable.What I love most about my job is finding people their dream home and helping people get moved. The feeling of securing an offer and getting to deliver the good news to both buyers and sellers is such a great feeling and the buzz within the office is great too! I can still remember my first ever sale (that makes me sound so much older than my years) and how gutted I was that the offer came in on my day off because I wanted to be the one that negotiated it! But still the sale was tied up and I haven’t looked back since.

Now I understand that you may not want to become an estate agent, which is fine, but I cannot encourage you enough to truly think about what makes you happy. Work shouldn’t have to be a chore or just a way of paying bills, it should give you a purpose. If you are just looking for a career path or looking for a change, there are plenty of websites that offer advice.

https://nacareertionalcareersservice.direct.gov.uk/
https://www.monster.co.uk/career-advice/
https://www.reed.co.uk/career-advice/

Or take a fun quiz to find out your destined career path.. I got a teacher!

http://mycareerquizzes.com/job-quiz

I can promise I am not going off to teach anytime
soon, so if you would like any advice on buying or selling a home please call me on 0191 497 8310 at Blackberry Estates!

& Remember, if you don’t like where you are, move. You are not a tree. 

b

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

